Liquin Original versus Liquin Fine Detail

As many have come to know I have been using Liquin as a final coat on my paintings for many, many years. While this is not something that I recommend anyone SHOULD do, I indeed have very specific reasons as to why I do. Those reasons can be found here:

In any case, I recently I have been asked if I have ever tried Liquin Fine Detail as a final coat instead of Liquin Original. I had not and became quite curious myself. As such, I decided to explore the materials a bit.

First lets take a look at the two materials and how they differ:

Overall, Liquin is a durable, non-yellowing alkyd resin medium that is used for thinning oil and alkyd colors, and speeding drying time. It is also used often to create “layer barriers” that are useful in some painting procedures (some refer to this technique as the creation of “save” layers. This technique allows the artist to scrape or wipe back work down on top of a “sealed” or “save” layer while preserving all work beneath.)

For those interested, an alkyd resin is a complex oil-modified polyester that serves as the film-forming agent in some paints and clear coatings. The term alkyd is a modification of the original name “alcid”, reflecting the fact that they are derived from alcohol and organic acid s. The inclusion of the fatty acid confers a tendency to form flexible coating. Alkyds are used in paints and in molds for casting. They are the dominant resin or “binder” in most commercial “oil-based” coatings. Alkyd resin medium for artists was first invented in the 1970s by Arthur DeCosta, a professor at The Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts in Philadelphia.

Structure of an idealized alkyd resin derived from glycerol and phthalic anhydride.

As to the two forms of Liquin: