Mixing Brights

I have limited experience and success mixing colors and I’ve found that one problem I have is mixing brights with just the addition of white, which creates pale, pastey, dechromatized brights that are cooler than the local color of a subject. This might work well when representing certain subjects under certain conditions, but usually what I’m trying to represent are brights that are MORE chromatic than the corresponding mid-tones and darks. One solution I found is to add white to a color for the brights, let it dry, then glaze over the pale brights in order to re-chromatize them. I’d like to know what other methods people use to avoid those dechromatized brights. Is there a general system for addressing this issue? Or is it always relative to the local color you are trying to brighten? For instance, if I want to mix the brights of an orange object I would add yellow and just a touch of white, but obviously this wouldn’t work for other colors, except maybe green. Any advice is greatly appreciated.

2 Likes

This is a great question Thomas and happens to be a topic we were just kicking around in the studio this week. The intuitive thing for many to make a color colloquially “brighter” is to simply add white. However, like you clearly state, the adding of white can indeed increase lightness, but also DESTROYS chroma (and can sometimes alter the perception of hue). The method that you mention, which is sacrificing chroma initially and glazing later, is indeed a viable option.