The Pros and Cons of Website Pricing

During a recent zoom artist roundtable, celebrated artist Natalie Featherston initiated a great conversation about the pros and cons of listing retail prices for available artwork on a personal website. I hadn’t realized it at the time of the conversation, but the debate over whether or not an artist should list prices on their site has apparently been ongoing for quite a while on many art-related forums and websites.

Fortunately, in my years as a professional painter, I have connected with some incredibly generous gallerists who are always happy to share their time and expertise. As such, following our roundtable discussion, I reached out to Howard and Lance Rehs from New York’s Rehs Gallery and Rehs Contemporary, Dave Ethridge and Chris Serr from Denver’s Gallery 1261 and Abend Gallery, Steve Diamant, from New York’s (formerly L.A.'s) Arcadia Contemporary, Jack Summers from Tulsa’s Lovetts Gallery, Robert and Megan Lange from Robert Lange Studios Gallery in Charleston, Clint Mansell from Principle Gallery Virginia, and John Manzari from Santa Fe’s Meyer Gallery. Each of these gallerists represents an impressive roster of talent, maintains an effective online presence, and can boast a wealth of experience in promotion and sales.