Sphere from Life & building confidence that your drawing will be okay

I’m finishing up charcoal studies with Anthony and found this early shot of my pretty rough lay-in for the Sphere from Life exercise. Nothing fundamentally wrong with it, but it doesn’t look great, either.

I remember thinking numerous times while working on this exercise that I would need to start it over, or that I’d picked something needlessly difficult to render. I wish I had more “in between” start/finished shots, because I know there were many times where it looked like a lost cause to me, and a drawing that just wasn’t going to come together the way I’d hoped it would.

An important thing I’ve learned mentoring with Tony is when it’s okay for a drawing you’re working on to look like ■■■■. The answer being, way more often than you’d think. Learning that you’ll be able to fix most things that go wrong and that it’ll all be okay if you have patience and put in the effort is half the battle.

Before I studied with Tony, I tended to give up on drawings that weren’t “working,” if they weren’t working within, like … a few hours of starting them. It wouldn’t have occurred to me to spend days or weeks taking the time to get something right. I figured if I couldn’t get it to look right within a few hours – or if it seemed like it was getting worse instead of better, as I continued working on it – then I should probably start over. “I just didn’t lay it in right,” or “I got too sloppy after a while,” or whatever I might tell myself. Why continue working on something I was clearly running into the ground and making worse?