My rather cramped studio

A very small room with and awful lot of stuff. There’s also a home recording studio in there if you can see it for the mess. Sorry for any OCD triggers. This is not a comfortable or ideal set-up (I can’t get far enough back from the easel at all) but mainly exists out of necessity. I am almost resigned to taking the drum kit down which should enable a more efficient process. But not quite yet…

4 Likes

You can also see the slide groove for my home made mahlstick/T-square design along the lower panel support.

And I thought my space was cramped! :smiley: How can you actually drum on that set?

What kind of recording do you do?

it’s a bit awkward and everything is definitely too close for comfort, but it’s all mic’d up ready and I can literally turn around on the drum-stool and be in front of protools which is very handy. i’m a guitarist mainly, but learned drums out of necessity. It’s usually all very fast, noisy and heavy stuff, black metal, death metal, thrash metal, etc. but not ruling out some mellower stuff now and again.

Although I don’t get to make much of a racket these days, which is likely why I’ve turned to a visual medium to get my creative kicks :slight_smile:

1 Like

Now that’s a creative space! Sure it’s cramped—but it looks like there’s maximum opportunity for creative output every few inches. LOL! :smiley:

(I should share that this looks very similar to my very first studio/creative space.)

1 Like

Spot the difference?! It is amazing how much space a drum kit takes up. I have a whole corner of a small room! Now I just need to get the final glazes on the ‘Vermeer’ and then will be back on track with LoD

:smiley:

3 Likes

Still cozy! I dig it~~~~ :smiley:

1 Like

Much improved situation at the studio. I love all those brush holders, trays, mahl stick/brace you rigged up. BTW, it looks like you already did the Vermeer glazing procedure referenced in the tutorial I sent you. Were you happy with the result?

1 Like