Phase 2 Scales

So I started painting phase 2 scales using french ultramarine. I stopped because I thought I was using the wrong color only to find out it was exactly the right color. It seemed very dark and blotchy so I switched to the next color in phase 2 which was cadmium yellow light. I painted 2 scales and again I’m thinking something was wrong because it came out slightly green. Since when does black and yellow make green? Very interesting!

1 Like

I recall this yellow + black = green phenomena too.

Forgive me if I’m wrong, but from what I remember from the LOP series there was an oft repeated statement that for certain colours you might need to ‘augment a difficult transition’ using another colour (can’t recall which one).

Personally I quite liked the green colour produced so didn’t let it concern me, only noting the possible remedy for later use.

1 Like

It’s interesting to think that we don’t “have” a dark yellow. Our biology is laid out in such a way that dark yellow is often perceived as green, red, or brown. Even trying to imagine a dark yellow is extremely difficult for many. You see, the experience of yellow is what happens when BOTH the middle AND long cones are highly excited–near their peak sensitivity without with little-to-no short wavelength cone activity. This is the biggest collective excitement that your cones ever have, aside from seeing pure white. Thus, as we move away from this “bright” peak–yellow seems to lose it’s identity. For painters, mixing a yellow pigment with black will often produce something quite greenish (with results/severity depending on the pigments of course.)

It is here in the yellow pressure scales that I sometimes introduce the idea of a buffer color. A buffer color is an additional color, or color mixture, added to a transition (often at a specific region) to contend with an unwanted color arising from the original transition. Here’s a rather subtle example.